Do Marshmallows Contain Pork?

The majority of marshmallows sold in stores include gelatin, a jelly-like substance made from the collagen found in the bones of numerous animals, including fish, cattle, and pigs. Although a lot of gelatin is made from pig bones, there is no meat in the sweet marshmallow product.

The original pink-flowered Althaea officinalis mallow plant, a delectable plant well-liked by the ancient Egyptians and frequently employed as a treatment for a variety of ailments, gave rise to commercially produced marshmallows.

The main ingredients in modern marshmallows are sugar, egg whites, and gelatin manufactured from animal collagen, which serves as a binding agent. The base for many sweets, such as s’mores and Marshmallow Peeps, as well as being consumed on their own, marshmallows are widely consumed.

Misha Khatri
Misha Khatri is an emeritus professor in the University of Notre Dame's Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. He graduated from Northern Illinois University with a BSc in Chemistry and Mathematics and a PhD in Physical Analytical Chemistry from the University of Utah.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More

Recent