In the state of Michigan, a 17-year-old is legally allowed to leave his home. According to LawRefs.com, this is only permitted due of a gap in Michigan law.
In Michigan, 17-year-olds are classified as either adults, minors, or juveniles. Parents, on the other hand, are expected to assist their children until they reach the age of 18. If the child chooses to move out at the age of 17, the situation becomes more problematic.
Because the youngster has the legal right to live on his own, a parent is unlikely to gain police aid if their 17-year-old child chooses to leave or run away.
Read More: What is the value of a pound of pennies?