The Seven Deadly Sins Are Represented by What Colors?

The hues violet for haughtiness, green for enmity, red for rage, light blue for sloth, yellow for greed, orange for gluttony, and blue for desire are used to symbolise the seven deadly sins. The seven deadly sins are mentioned in Dante Alighieri’s book “Divine Comedy,” which was written between 1265 and 1321.

Because it caused Lucifer to fall, Dante saw pride as the first sin. He thought that pride is the root of all other faults. According to Dante, envy is the desire to rob others of what they already possess. He held that rage, resentment, or anger was a precursor to other crimes including retaliation, violence, and a lack of forgiving others.

Sloth was used to describe grief and indifference, which resulted in a failure to sufficiently adore God and recognise his goodness and benefits.

He thought that greed encouraged materialism and selfishness and made one blind to the higher benefits of paradise. Overindulgence, often known as gluttony, subjugates a person to their baser wants and eclipses their commitment to God. Like gluttony, according to Dante, lust can become obsessive and interfere with one’s religious duty.

At the Piazza of Santa Croce in Florence, there is a statue of Dante. His portrait was also painted by Sandro Botticelli.

Misha Khatri
Misha Khatri is an emeritus professor in the University of Notre Dame's Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. He graduated from Northern Illinois University with a BSc in Chemistry and Mathematics and a PhD in Physical Analytical Chemistry from the University of Utah.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More