What Are the Twelve Apostles’ Names in Order?

The 12 apostles are listed in the following sequence in the Gospel of Matthew: Judas Iscariot, Andrew, James (the son of Zebedee), John, Philip, Bartholomew, Thomas, Matthew, James (the son of Alphaeus), Thaddaeus, Simon, and Simon (whom Jesus later nicknamed “Peter”). In the other gospels, the names occur in a different order.

Peter, James (the son of Zebedee), John, Andrew, Philip, Bartholomew, Matthew, Thomas, James (the son of Alphaeus), Thaddaeus, Simon, and Judas Iscariot are the apostles listed in the order that they appear in the Gospel of Mark.

With a few exceptions, the order of the apostles in Luke’s gospel is somewhat different from Matthew’s. The names of the people are: Judas Iscariot, Simon, Judas (Thaddeus), Andrew, James, John, Philip, Bartholomew, Matthew, Thomas, and James the son of Alphaeus.

Even though the lists are in different orders, Simon Peter is always mentioned first. Jesus accorded Peter a specific place in the leadership of his church in Matthew 16:18–19, while different Christian groups disagree on the precise nature and scope of this leadership.

According to the Gospel of Matthew, Judas Iscariot, who consistently comes in last on lists, betrayed Jesus in the Garden of Gethsemane before hanging himself. As a result, Matthias was chosen by the Apostles to take Judas Iscariot’s place, according to the Book of Acts.

Misha Khatri
Misha Khatri is an emeritus professor in the University of Notre Dame's Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. He graduated from Northern Illinois University with a BSc in Chemistry and Mathematics and a PhD in Physical Analytical Chemistry from the University of Utah.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More