What Foods Make Up Chili’s Black Bean Burger?

In place of a meat patty, Chili’s black bean burger is mostly made of black beans. The patty blends the beans with bell peppers, cilantro, onions, and parsley. Since egg is also used as a binding agent, the patty is not vegan. The black bean burger is served on a wheat bun with ranch dressing, iceberg lettuce, and other toppings as desired.

Cayenne pepper, salt, and breadcrumbs are added to the black bean burger in addition to the main ingredients. The patty is fried in vegetable oil and can be ordered in place of the beef patties and prepared just like any of the other trademark burgers. There are other toppings including cheese, guacamole, pickles, and tomatoes that can be added; however, some of these extras have a fee.

The menu designates the black bean patty as a “guilt free” choice because it contains more protein and less fat than a regular beef burger. In comparison to many other menu items, it has fewer calories.

The hamburger is not strictly vegetarian or vegan. Chili’s informs consumers that they cannot guarantee that the black bean burger will not come into contact with meat or meat products because the kitchen also cooks meat.

The burger is also accompanied by French fries, which are not advised as a vegetarian alternative because they are fried in the same oil as meat products. Instead of the fries, diners can order a salad.

Misha Khatri
Misha Khatri is an emeritus professor in the University of Notre Dame's Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. He graduated from Northern Illinois University with a BSc in Chemistry and Mathematics and a PhD in Physical Analytical Chemistry from the University of Utah.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More

Recent