What states begin with the letter “L”?

Only one of the 50 states in the US starts with the letter L, and that is Louisiana. The 30th of April, 1812, was the day that Louisiana became the 18th state.

Louisiana has a total area of 51,843 square miles, which makes it the 31st largest state in the United States. Louisiana’s length is 379 miles, and its width is 130 miles. Baton Rouge is the state capital, and New Orleans is the biggest city.

Louisiana’s lowest point is also in New Orleans. It is 8 feet below sea level. The states of Texas, Arkansas, and Mississippi are right next to Louisiana. Louisiana’s southern border is made up of the Gulf of Mexico.

Misha Khatri
Misha Khatri is an emeritus professor in the University of Notre Dame's Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. He graduated from Northern Illinois University with a BSc in Chemistry and Mathematics and a PhD in Physical Analytical Chemistry from the University of Utah.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More