What States Make Up North America?

Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, and Wisconsin make up the northern states of the United States. Historically, these states have been referred to as the Union states during the American Civil War.

The Great Plains, the Old Northwest (East North Central States), the Middle Atlantic States, and New England were historically separated into four separate regions, while the northern states are now regarded as a single region (West North Central States).

George Washington used the phrases “North” (Union states) and “South” (Confederate states) to allude to the diametrically opposed attitudes and policies on slavery between the two areas in 1796, marking the first official acknowledgement of the northern states as a regional unit.

The northern states were united not just by a shared philosophy but also by political, educational, cultural, and economic links as rising immigration and commerce served to meld the interests of different states.

In the twenty-first century, the northern states are mainly independent, but they have much in common, like robust manufacturing industries and high population densities in comparison to the rest of the nation.

The term “northern states” is not frequently used because of America’s federal system and the greater autonomy between states. It is more typical to divide the states into smaller regions, like the Midwest and New England.

Misha Khatri
Misha Khatri is an emeritus professor in the University of Notre Dame's Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry. He graduated from Northern Illinois University with a BSc in Chemistry and Mathematics and a PhD in Physical Analytical Chemistry from the University of Utah.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Read More